About us

Who we are

Eleven of our members were elected unopposed to serve on the Community Council in Autumn 2019 (Elected Community Councillors).

Twenty six of our members sit on our body by virtue of being an elected representative for all or part of our area (Ex-officio members).

Elected Community Councillors:

  • Gail Clapton – Treasurer.
  • Abby Cunningham – Parks & Greenspaces Sub Committee.
  • Angus Hardie – Planning Sub Committee.  Community Councils Together on Trams.
  • David Igoe – Parks & Greenspaces Secretary.
  • Rafiqul Islam
  • Tangila Islam
  • Sally Millar – Secretary. Planning Sub Committee.
  • Andrew MacKenzie – Planning Secretary.  Community Councils Together on Trams.
  • Christine Reid – Parks & Greenspaces Sub Committee.
  • Jim Scanlon – Chair. Planning Sub Committee. Seafield co-lead.
  • Eileen Simpson – Seafield co-lead.
  • Michael Traill – Engagement Officer. Licensing Secretary.

Co-opted Community Councillors:

  • None.

Nominated representatives:

  • Vacancy 1
  • Vacancy 2
  • Vacancy 3
  • Vacancy 4
  • Vacancy 5
  • Vacancy 6

Associate members:

  • None.

Ex officio members:


What we do

The general purpose of Community Councils is to act as a voice for our local area. We do that by raising matters of concern with our elected representatives or directly to public bodies. We also work to improve our local community by taking part in partnership work and by undertaking our own projects.


Our area

Our area is defined by the red line in the map below. However, our work is not confined to this area.  There are often issues which arise elsewhere in the City or Country which will have an impact upon our community.


How we are governed

Community Councils were first established in Scotland by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.

The City of Edinburgh Council produces a Scheme of Administration for Community Councils which lays down local provision & rules for Community Councils in the City.

Our Community Council also adheres to its own Constitution and Standing Orders.